Jim Killock, Executive Director

Since joining Open Rights Group in January 2009, Jim has led campaigns against three strikes and the Digital Economy Act, the company Phorm and its plans to snoop on UK users, and against pervasive government Internet surveillance. He is working on data protection and privacy issues, as well as helping ORG to grow in size and breadth. He was named as one of the 50 most influential people on IP issues by Managing IP in 2012. In the same year ORG won Liberty's Human Rights Campaigner of the Year award alongside 38 Degrees, for work on issues from copyright to the Snooper’s Charter.

Since 2009, ORG has doubled its supporter base, budget and workload, and held five activist conferences, ORGCon.

Jim is a trustee of FreeUKGen, the volunteer project to digitise genealogical records, and sits on the Governance Board of CREATe, the UK's research centre for copyright and new business models in the creative economy. He is on the Advisory Council of the Foundation of Information Policy Research.

Before joining ORG, Jim worked as External Communications Co-ordinator of the Green Party. At the Green Party, he promoted campaigns on open source, intellectual property, digital rights and campaigned against the arms and espionage technologist Lockheed Martin's bid for the UK Census. Lockheed Martin have since been prevented from handling UK Census data as part of their contract. He was also a leading figure in the campaign to elect their first party leader, Caroline Lucas MP. He has a blog at (For press photos, see here and here)

PGP key available via:

Martha Dark, Chief Operating Officer

Martha joined Open Rights Group in February 2018. Alongside the Executive Director Martha leads the organisation and oversees strategy, finance, governance, development and outreach.

Prior to joining Open Rights Group, Martha worked in Operations for a variety of human rights organisations in the UK and overseas including Reprieve, Progresio and the International Service for Human Rights. 

Martha graduated from the University of Leeds in 2010, then went on to study for an LLB at BPP University. 


Myles Jackman, Legal Director

Myles Jackman is ORG’s Legal Director. He was the defence solicitor in the landmark R v Peacock case, in 2012, which was seen as a test of the Obscene Publications Act 1959. He also successfully defended Simon Walsh, in another 2012 case, seen as a test of Section 63 of the Criminal Justice and Immigration Act 2008. During the latter trial he was the first acting solicitor allowed to live tweet from a British trial. The same year, he was awarded the Junior Lawyer of the Year Excellence Award by the Law Society of England and Wales.

He has a website 

Javier Ruiz Diaz, Policy Director

Javier helps ORG navigate our complex policy landscape, which includes diverse areas such as intellectual property and copyright, surveillance, privacy and data protection, open source innovation, transparency and access to information.

Since joining ORG, Javier has worked on Open Data, including being part of an advisory group to Ministry of Justice on transposition of EU Public Sector Information Directive. He engaged in the UK Data Sharing open policy project at the UK Cabinet Office, where he successfully argued for the introduction of extensive safeguards in the pre-legislative proposals.

Working on Open Data privacy, he co-authored the OGP Open Government Guide chapter on privacy-and-data-protection. in our surveillance work he has authored an in depth report on Snowden leaks, and made many submissions to Parliament.

He has engaged in advocacy at EU and UK level on EU General Data Protection Regulation and e-Privacy and recently contributed to the Open Source aspects of the Digital Strategy of the Council of Barcelona.

Involved at the inception of open access reporting website Indymedia UK in 1999, he has since been active as a journalist, campaigner and radio documentary producer, promoting communication tools for social movements.

At the World Social Forum in Brazil he co-ordinated open hardware and software projects to provide instantaneous interpretation of the event to over a 100,000 participants.

His other interests include applying open source innovation models to the development of renewable energy technologies and open hardware in general.

You can contact Javier via twitter @javierruiz or email PGP key here

Matthew Rice, Scotland Director

Matthew leads on establishing Open Rights Group in debates in Scotland, working with local groups, expanding membership and funding in Scotland and raising the profile of the organisation in Scottish media. He holds an MA in Human Rights from University College London and an LLB from the University of Aberdeen.

Matthew was previously at Privacy International as an Advocacy Officer working with their International Network of partners and developing the Surveillance Industry Index.

You can reach Matthew at



Ed Johnson-Williams, Policy and Research Officer

Ed was ORG's campaigner from 2013 to 2017. Now he works on two research projects: one on ethics in Internet of Things development with VIRT-EU, and one on helping people engage their new data protection rights under GDPR.

Before joining ORG, Ed taught English for the British Council in Egypt.

You can find Ed on Twitter as @_edjw or email him at

Mike Morel, Campaigns Manager

Mike joined ORG’s team in 2017. He manages ORG’s campaigns and local groups across the UK. 

Before moving to London, Mike worked as media reform advocate in Washington DC, New York City, and his native San Francisco Bay Area. He’s written, presented and blogged about Net Neutrality, political polarisation, and media bias. He holds an MA in Government from Johns Hopkins University in Washington DC, and BA’s in Political Science and Physical Anthropology from the University of California Santa Cruz.

Mike is also a musician.

You can reach him at with this PGP key.


Alex Haydock, Legal Consultant

Alex is a Master in Law graduate who joined the ORG team in November 2017. Before joining, he worked as the organiser for the ORG North East local group and has organised and assisted CryptoParty events across the UK. Alex works alongside Myles Jackman on ORG's current legal work and challenges.

Alex's has a particular interest in digital rights and civil liberties, and the regulation of technology and the internet. His current specific interests include the implementation of age verification technology through the Digital Economy Act 2017, and the development and use of censorship circumvention tools worldwide.

You can reach him at with this PGP key (0xCC0F0336).


Lee Maguire, Technical Officer

An internet user since the days of Usenet NNTP-downloads over metered modem connections.

Lee has worked in internet-related postions for more than a decade, over diverse range of industries, from music to finance.

In addition to his work with ORG, Lee also works with public-sector and non-profit organisations on web projects.